Its been a while since I wrote any blog here, I was occupied by doing lot of things. I am really excited about it too. Presently reading, “Imagining India” by Nandan Nilekani, which is taking good amount of time after office hours. I would def recommend this book, atleast to know about our country in much better way.

:Last week, I was reading Robin Cook’s – Critical. Its really a critical story 😀 with lots of charecters and fight between mafia gangs and spread of deadily bacteria ( MRSA ), I should have expected this after reading COMA of the same author. I was curious to read CRITICAL because that was his last book 😀

Really, speaking about those deadily viruses and bacteria’s, it scares you a lot to go to any speciality hospitals. I know I can’t take everything as told, but looking at those viruses and co-incedentel SWINE flu now, it really makes one to put on the thinking cap. My collegue who is a business development manager in Mumbai region, was telling me that eveyone is scared to death recently after the first death. He told me that, he keeps washing his hands with an anti-biotic soap regularly, but his job demands him to be on the field.

Now the recent news is Delhi govt has asked to shut the school for a week, will this be beneficial? I cant answer this. How long you can keep the doors closed? Now everywhere, and in every newspaper “Swine Flu” has made the bold headline.

This swine flu has even swallowed a 4 year old boy who was in ventilator, then died of multiple organ failure in Chennai today morning along with an ayurvedic doctor in Pune. So the total death count is 6 in India.

I was looking out for the symptoms and the precautions which can be taken for this deadly influenza, came up with nice article, thought I can share this.  please read this, its better to be prepared than being ignorant.

Symptoms of Swine Flu

The symptoms of swine flu are usually like those of regular seasonal flu and include:

  • headache
  • chills
  • cough
  • fever
  • loss of appetite
  • aches
  • fatigue
  • runny nose
  • sneezing
  • watery eyes
  • throat irritation
  • nausea and vomiting
  • diarrhea
  • in people with chronic conditions, pneumonia may develop

Precautions Against Swine Flu

Good standard flu prevention techniques are recommended to protect yourself against swine flu:

  • Get a regular seasonal flu vaccination. It might not help against this specific strain, but it won’t hurt.
  • Wash your hands frequently with soap and hot running water. If hot water is not available, use an alcohol-based hand gel.
  • When you cough and sneeze, cover your mouth and nose. Wash your hands afterwards.
  • Avoid being near others who might be sick.
  • Stay home if you are sick, to avoid affecting others.
